What brought your attention into VR

Scienceguy Labs

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
I first entered VR with a cheap Google cardboard a year or two ago. Then, I graduated to a still cheap, but improved VR headset. For the past year, I haven't touched those two things. In fact, I didn't really explore any VR at all. Recently, I bought an HP MR headset. I'm really blown away by it. I don't know where VR is heading, but right now, it's a really cool thing to have.

badelhas

Dec 17, 2015
Visit site
The first time I tried was with a cheap Google cardboard as well but I wasn't really impressed until I bought the HTC Vive ;)

Belle_Celeste

Apr 7, 2018
Visit site
The games, primarily, and to see how technology is progressing forward. When the Wii came out, I had to get it because it was the "new" thing in technology. Then there was the 3DS. VR headsets were a bit more pricey to jump straight into Day 1 on release, so I've been waiting for price to drop. Instead, I've watched a lot of gaming channels on Youtube where they're trying out different VR headsets/games, and it looks really fun!

MikeInOhio

Jul 20, 2013
Visit site
The thing that got me interested in the space was the HoloLens demo at Build. The message that VR/AR/MR could go beyond gaming and had (real) real-world uses was intriguing. So when M$ announced cheaper MR headsets I thought I would investigate. Turns out gaming is pretty fun.

Belle_Celeste

Apr 7, 2018
Visit site
Definitely the games. I watch a lot of gaming channels on Youtube so I was able to see a variety of them being tested out when it was first released.

I have always been a huge fan of roller coaster/amusement park games, and was absolutely fascinated when they introduced first-person camera view so that you could actually experience the ride yourself (about 3-4 different games used to do this) when I was a kid. Considering I was amazed by something like that, you can imagine how much more realistic it must be in a VR headset! :grin:

onemoredave