What does Windows offer that other platforms can't?

Mark Boykin

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
I've been wondering about how the platform will mature in the coming years. What it has to become, what it isn't, and the problems of how it is; I'm no expert in these matters, but I figured a thread that asks these questions wouldn't hurt. The difficulty I've come up with is that Windows offers a lot of opportunity for people who want to develop and use applications, but no real compelling qualities for people who want to develop or use apps.

This may sound stupid (I know, functionally the same word) but let me draw the distinction between the two terms: an app is software principally for people who don't care how it works. It's shorthand; you don't need the rest spelled out for you, because that information would just distract you from doing what you really want to do. An application, on the other hand, is software for people who do care about how it works, because they need to know enough to make it work for them, or because they've literally invested millions in the software's performance. When the user wants to look behind the curtain and know the ins and outs of your software, then they're dealing with an application. Apps aren't generally sprawling creations, and applications aren't generally for unspecialized workers/professionals.

If you've listened to the Vergecast recently, you might've heard those dudes talk about how difficult it is to rely upon Google's business solutions when you reach a certain scale; problems that are a cinch to solve when you're on Microsoft's platform are ridiculous on Google's. Microsoft has indeed found success in focusing on making their platform a solid one for applications, even if they're anemic on the equally important app side, and that is a compelling point in favor of the platform. But this isn't always going to be the case.