Hi all I am currently an apple user, however very interested in windows 10.

As a pastor I have a church laptop that has windows 7 on it. The problem I have is that I cannot use office on it any more, as soon as I click the icon it says feature Id not registered. So I was wondering, if I download 10 (already registered but have not pulled the trigger), can I then download windows office and use it? I'm sure I heard that like the iPad there will be a version that is free to use? I can use it fine on the iPad, however want to do some work on the laptop too.

I am fairly good with computers so the preview does not worry me too much, the laptop is a dell Inspiron.

Thanks for any advice.
    02-20-2015 05:00 AM
    Yes, there's a preview version if office which is free in the store for Windows 10 users. Although it is optimized for touch, you can use it with a mouse, too.

Some features don't work without an office 365 subscription, but most things do.
    02-20-2015 05:04 AM
    How stable is it now, I'm aware it's been getting updated loads. Once installed is it likely to require me to completely fresh install or is it beyond that point now?

Thanks.
    02-20-2015 05:15 AM
    Personally I've had fairly good luck with Windows 10. My Dell Venue 8 Pro had some hiccups like the wifi cutting out, but someone found a workaround. Otherwise, classic Windows apps have been running well, and Modern apps are a little buggy yet.

If you decide to take the plunge, I'd suggest making sure you can go back to Windows 7 again, just in case. But I like 10 so far, and don't currently have plans to go back on any of my devices.

Excited to see how it is on the phone!

How stable is it now, I'm aware it's been getting updated loads. Once installed is it likely to require me to completely fresh install or is it beyond that point now?

Thanks.
    02-20-2015 05:20 AM

Thanks.