Is 8GB internal memory enough for Windows 8.1 or Windows 10 even after more than 1.5 years of use?

scavira

Apr 26, 2015
Visit site
I am usually a very heavy user of my phone.
I have been using Google Nexus 4 for more than 2 years and I hate the limited (16GB) memory and extremely poor battery.
I bought my father a Lumia 535 and he loves it and I have also been playing with it just to get learn more about Windows phone before buying myself one.
My next phone will be a Windows phone, no matter what.
Most (if not all?) low/mid range windows phones have only 8GB internal memory.
I love the ability to store media in SD card and install apps in SD card.

But there are some things which cannot use SD card storage at all.

Please answer this query considering "heavy" usage even 2 years after buying the phone and even after upgrading the phone to Windows 10. (If you don't want to answer in a general sense for all low/mid range phones, then please answer for Lumia 535 and Lumia 640 XL)

Is 8GB really enough?

I do not want it to a pain point of using my phone (like how it is for me in my Nexus 4 with regards to internal storage)
If taking some smart decisions (like using the option to save all media and apps to SD card etc) can save me from worry even after 2 years, then it is fine.
But I don't want to be constantly annoyed/worried about my storage space every few days (eg: every week)

I read few posts in this forum where users have complained "other" consuming lot of memory space.
Clearing cache and clearing IE history etc can be done. But it should not become a chore.
It should not get to a point where even normal use of my phone makes me dread about internal storage running out.

So, long term Windows phone users out there, please answer this question sincerely.
Is 8GB internal memory really enough?

P.S I know I am getting lower price because of low internal memory. Please don't bring price factor into this, as it will not answer the question.