My Opinion: The Death of Windows Phone: As a Windows Fan I Don't Need One

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ten Four

Nov 20, 2013
Visit site
Hey, I don't like Starbucks coffee and I use the Ally Bank app on my Windows phone, but the app gap is the biggest reason WP is not more popular, and OP pointed out that even when we do have an official Microsoft app the quality is usually better on the other platforms.

wariscoming

Apr 10, 2013
Visit site
Completely agree with the original posters comments. I too have been with Windows Phone since 2011. I couldn't wait anymore...the app gap just grew too large and even more so, the apps that are on Windows Phone are sorely, sorely outdated. I abandoned ship last night and got the Nexus 5X. I'm sorry Windows Phone, please forgive me.

garak0410

Jan 8, 2009
Visit site
I'm a hardcore Windows fan. I make my living supporting Windows networks. I can't stand Android and I tolerate iOS. However, the Lumia 950/950 XL put me in a tough spot. My Verizon Lumia 928 was long in the tooth. On top of that I dropped it twice and cracked the screen. It was time for a new phone. My job pays for my mobile phone and it's a Verizon account so I had to hold my nose and get a Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge+. At least the phone is beautiful as can be.

After coming to grips with the gaudy-as-hell interface and the 3 copies of apps that all do the same damn thing, I quickly realized something: I can do everything I could do on my Windows Phone and more. And no, I'm not talking about capabilities, I'm talking about using core Microsoft services and apps. Here's what I'm talking about:

• I can access my One Notes
  • I can access my Office docs on One Drive
  • I can Skype
  • My pictures automatically sync to my One Drive with no extra configuration that I can remember except installing One Drive
  • Apps as far as the eye can see
  • Glance replaced by the Edge interface