My Opinion: The Death of Windows Phone: As a Windows Fan I Don't Need One

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alain_A

Dec 2, 2012
Visit site
Ya know, I have been around here for a while, a Windows Phone like the OP, I make my living off supporting Microsoft stuff, servers, computers, etc. As I am a HUGE Windows Phone fan... I always followed the group here (instead of a iSheep, a Microsheep ?), and claimed Android was a laggy mess as other people keep saying.

When it comes down to it, I picked up a LG G3 for almost nothing. I did a test and used it for over a week, taking my ICON and just leaving it on a charger.

http://forums.windowscentral.com/android/385134-my-one-week-android-project.html

I was EXEPECTING a laggy mess and performance that sucked completely. You know what ? I noticed no major lag over the week, performance was over all pretty good, Battery life was what I expected in 8.1, about a day and ad the end maybe 25-40% left. But you know what the ONE thing I did notice ?

Apps, OMG apps, Bank of America ? Got it, NATIVE Pebble support ? Got it, How about Dish Network's sling app ? GOT IT, How about the newest games ? Yep ! How about my Local Radio and TV stations ? Yep, Got it. Tap to pay ? Yep they are there too. Microsoft apps ? Oh yea, they are there too, even Outlook is there.

Yea, the OS, not too crazy about it. Android is a mess... so I was going to sell my LG G3 in white but, I still have it because I am on the fence. I love Windows Phone, the OS is smooth, easy to use, live tiles ROCK. Windows Phone 10, on the other hand, looks good but, still is very buggy but, 8.1 is solid as a rock. The lack of apps are the biggest problem, The OS can only go so far, in a app controlled world that we are in, no matter how you look at it, it is a MAJOR problem.