(Deja Vu) Palm all over again?

Tien-Lin Chang

Feb 9, 2015
Visit site
Telling people is still growing and the future will be nice = telling people go some other platform now and come back when its ready?

If so then why people want to invest their money on a developing platform before it's READY? A paying beta tester sound stupid to me.

You can't using this excuse to cover MSFT for too long before it start driving people and app developer away.

They already have gone slow in 2014 because the Nokia/MS merge, going even slower in 2015 because they are focuing on W10M. How many years we have to wait till we catch up MSFT claimed many years ahead?

Manfred Pohler

Jan 20, 2014
Visit site
I don't have the insights to tell what the real reason for the WM problems are.
But I want to share my "problems" with WM.

I'm a MS developer for more than 20 years and you can call me a fan boy.
Also I'm technical addicted. I run an automated home, have some HUE and LIFX bulbs run RaspBerry PIs...

Going from Windows Mobile (those old "CE devices") to iPhone I learned two thing.
With WP it was horrible to set up a network, and almost impossible to get a connection to my Exchange Server.
On my iPhone it was just a few taps and I had push mail running - still with my Exchange.
My thoughts were - why can a "third party" OS connect with MS products and MS to MS makes so much problems?

Anyhow - I left my iPhone and changed back to MS.
Things worked as expected - but from a developers perspective I was disappointed.
Well knowing (from iPhone) that those mobile OSes have a lot of restrictions for a developer I was shocked how much more restrictions existed on WM.
I had a "transportation goods tracking" application. First on WM (almost no restrictions at all) an later on iPhone - although nit took some time till Apple allowed background tasks.
At WM - "no background due to battery concerns"...
So I was not able to run this solution on WM...

Next step was WP8.x.