Things missing vs other platforms that keeps me from coming back

Ixolite

Jan 12, 2013
Visit site
App WILL be obsolete. There's no question about that. I'm a web programmer and the way things are going, apps are going to be useless soon enough. Until then it's an important factor to a lot of people. But Web Apps are becoming so powerful that it will definitely happen. For a lot of apps currently on the market, the only advantage to having a proper app is push notifications and even that is coming (go to Facebook or the Web version of Skype on Chrome, it's already happening there). Companies are working for apps to become useless. Imaging the advantages! Just one product to maintain versus 3-4, one place for stats and all their other telemetrics. It's the way of the future. It's just not coming fast enough.

Apps that are just a front for a web-service - probably. Then again, there are advantages to have native apps even for those services - like reduced data transfer or tighter integration with the system and hardware or offline modes.

Also, running and OS (browser) inside of an OS (actual OS) to use an app brings another layer of complexity, that is not always beneficial.

And of course, there are still apps that do not need internet for anything and it would make no sense to have them web only.

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site