When will Win 10 be available on my HTC One M 8 WinPhone8.1? Is it time to give up on WinPhone?

Edward Williams3

Mar 31, 2016
Visit site
I am a business owner with an intermediate level of tech knowledge. I have a Surface Pro 3 and a desktop both running Win 10 and I like the fact that content shows up on both. Should I get the new Win 10 Nokia phone? I have heard that Nokia may fade away. Or should I get an Android or I-Phone and just forget about syncing with my other devices?

Werentuckl

Mar 15, 2016
Visit site
Nokia has already been acquired by Microsoft, and their phone lines have been all but deprecated Edward. You have a very good phone in the HTC M8 already. However, due to the conflux of HTC, MS, and Verizon all being involved in the upgrade process for WM10 for the phone, its been pretty much all but off the cards for the phone to get the update officially. You mention you are an intermediate tech user, and as such, from that I would recommend that you dont give up on the platform altogether just yet. :) ^_^

Since you have a pretty decent phone already, you could do one of these things. MS has a pretty big insider program where you can get your phone upgraded to WM10 unofficially. While the phone isnt on the supported list, if you look through the WC M8 forums, you'll find that there are simple registry hacks to get your device rolling onto the insider program with little to no hiccups. This can give you a good idea of what you'll be getting in the new platform and you can make your decisions better informed about staying on the bandwagon. Or even just sticking with the M8 on the unofficial WM10 updates program. Its still a very good phone you know. And you'll be down nothing except a little bit of time, and if you dont like it, maybe some frustration. Unless you earn a hundred dollars an hour. I know I dont. Yet. :p