11-02-2016 06:12 AM
319 ... 45678 ...
tools
    Anyway, I'm still part of the 1% for nostalgic reasons. ☺
    Were you a user of yesteryear's Pocket PCs too? I've been using Windows Mobile devices since WM2003, and that was one of the reasons why I tried out Windows Phone (the other being how much I disliked what Google did to the SD card permissions in KK).
    07-24-2016 11:30 PM
    That seems like a sound explanation. Hardware that's more on the lean side isn't really designed for all their background processing and may be suffering from the phone trying to do too much behind the curtain.
    No. Thron may be right about background processes or Cortana playing a role. Misinterpreting that to be the hardware's fault is wrong however. Faulting the hardware is really not a sound explanation. Our devices even ship with multicore CPUs. That's exactly the type of hardware that should excel at handling background processes! Consider also that the Android OS allows for much heavier background processing, yet Android devices with the same hardware as the L830 have no such issues.
    I'm a software engineer. I can assure you that ALL the explanations faulting the hardware are laughable. Hardware performance isn't the issue.
    I'll wait for the AU and then start fiddling around with background processes and Cortana. Thron may be right that I can micromanage my way to a better experience. Not having to do that is one of the things that originally attracted me to WP7 however. 😕

Were you a user of yesteryear's Pocket PCs too?
    Yup, you got it. ☺ However, I feel more nostalgic about WP7.5. What I used before WP7 was more about utility than passion ☺
    07-25-2016 01:21 AM