I'm standing my ground, and sticking with Windows Mobile.

RPG2

Nov 23, 2017
Visit site
I'll add my two cents. Six months on Android and now I am firmly back to W10M, and never been happier.
Full disclosure my background is in computer science and software engineering.
Dev to dev manager, product management, sales engineering - I know how software development works.

When my trusty 1520 died I switched to an inexpensive Chinese handset and was amazed by how good it was despite the low price tag.
Apps can be excellent but a pain to find - for every good app there are 100 crappy ones.
Google play store is terrible. No rating system to speak of or it doesn't work. Prepared to be confused.

Switched to S7 Edge. Beautiful but fragile - broke the screen in a month. Case & screen protector is a must. Incredibly frustrating and so unstable.

Frankly Android is powerful but an absolute mess. It's been forked, abused and turned into a franken-monster.
You can do anything with it - but it's hopelessly complex, the classic sign of a base system that has had too much functionality added to it and desperately needs a reboot and complete refactoring. Even simple things like suppressing app notifications has 5 different settings areas that may need to be adjusted.

The whole OS desperately needs some major UI/UX standardization. I'm convinced google does not have a single UX designer - or certainly they have no say in anything. The overall interface on android is so mismatched - nothing works the same because it's clearly been developed by software engineers.
Android does so much but everything is almost complete - and almost completely broken.

RPG2

Nov 23, 2017
Visit site
...Continued from before (forum span filter made me split this up)

When I broke my S7E a second time I decided to try the 950XL.
I can't believe people called this cheap feeling because I love the clean lines. Simple. Plus no case needed, ever.