Is Wechat really gone?

kelifu

Nov 27, 2017
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

I just registered so nice "meeting" you all. I've been using Windows phones since about 2012 and currently have a 950 XL and a 640 XL. Hidden away in a box somewhere is a Moly X1. They all run Windows 10 Mobile Version 1709 on the latest insiders fast builds.

So I'm visiting China in a couple weeks for vacation and everyone is telling me to get Wechat up and running before I go.

Well, it seems the newly revamped "Microsoft Store" only has Wechat for desktops/laptops but no longer for mobile. There is a web version, but that won't work since you need to create an account from an the actual mobile version first.

Any thoughts? Does anyone know if the XAP or APPX for wechat for windows 10 mobile exists anywhere and if so, would it even be possible to install?

Thanks so much.

--Cliff

Ryujingt3

Nov 13, 2013
Visit site
Many apps are no longer available on W10M, sadly. WeChat is one of them. I also learnt that The Guardian (UK newspaper) dropped their support for Windows entirely for their app as well as the popular (and very good) ebook reader, Freda, now moving to Android. These are the times we live in.

TechFreak1

May 15, 2013
Visit site
If you had WeChat installed previously then you can download it from your download history. Otherwise... you'd be better off doing as others suggest.

kelifu

Nov 27, 2017
Visit site
If you had WeChat installed previously then you can download it from your download history. Otherwise... you'd be better off doing as others suggest.
At one point I did, but now doesn't even show as a possibility to download in "my apps" in the Microsoft Store. Even visiting their site directs me to a page that says "We are sorry, the page you requested cannot be found.". Looks like it's a goner. With that said, I really do love my 950 and 640 XL so will try to make due on my trip to China without wechat....

TechFreak1

May 15, 2013
Visit site