Very sad day for me as a WM fan

anguilla1980

May 1, 2008
Visit site
I've been a user of Windows Mobile 100% exclusively since 2003. I've owned every great WM flagship there have been and many more over the years. I used to be a active dev on XDA for many years as well.

This past week my 950XL that I've had since the week it launched, finally started giving up the ghost. Apps not opening, then sometims working a couple days later, then not working again, even after removing and reinstalling, resets, etc.

It's been a great 15 years that I had hoped would never come to an end, but I'm afraid it must. I can't get an app for nearly all popular services anymore and many have been discontinued over the past couple years. I've really tried to hang in there, but it makes no sense to buy another 950XL at this point to get by until the next Windows Mobile device may come out.

Goodbye my fellow Windows Mobile enthusiasts, it's been a great run :cheers:

anon(10505149)

Aug 14, 2018
Visit site
It's been a great 15 years that I had hoped would never come to an end, but I'm afraid it must. I can't get an app for nearly all popular services anymore and many have been discontinued over the past couple years.

Sorry for your pain man. I feel it too. Sadly I think Microsoft's neglect of its own app store will lead to its decline in all consumer focused products.

No sane developer would write a NEW Win32 app. UWP? Microsoft's retreat from the phone, and their half-hearted, pathetic, stalling on CoreOS and Andromeda, only signals an utter lack of commitment and thus further decline in UWP/PWA and light computing.

Microsoft will eventually be reduced to Office 365, back office services on Azure, and windows 10 running laptops in Enterprise cubicles. Will they survive as a company? Sure. Enterprises spend a lot of money on IT. But consumer and Microsoft are finished.

My advice is to also buy an iPad, a Mac, and an Alexa device and just be done with MS altogether in your home.