Windows 10 Won't Activate!!!

jd_tech

Jul 30, 2015
Visit site
Hello forums,

It's my first time here, so sorry if I posted this in the wrong place, but anyways:

I saved all my files and started the installation, after like 10 minutes it was done (my laptop does have a SSD). When I logged in, I really liked the UI:smile:, ok, enough explanation...but anyway, it says Activate Windows!!! I thought the "key" was free, right? So, why is it trying to get me to enter a product key:shocked:?! I searched the "activation problems" part of the Windows 10 website, and it said "Go to settings -> updates -> activation, then click Go to store" or something like that. I did it step by step, and the store asked me to damn buy it for $149.99 for the home version:shocked:! By the way, the website just says "You have to buy it if there isn't a valid license available on the store". Ummm...I thought it was free:angry:?

Plz help, what do I do now?

--jd_tech

Skamath

Feb 15, 2014
Visit site
Hi welcome to the fourms. The free part applies only to user who haven a genuine win7 sp1 or win8.1 selected editions. To upgrade to win 10 you would have seen an icon to reserve a free copy. In case there wasn't one then chances are you system did not qualify for one.

jd_tech

Jul 30, 2015
Visit site
Thanks for your reply, I have genuine Windows 8 Pro (that came with my laptop) and I did get my Windows 10 upgrade from the little icon on the taskbar that keeps bugging me to upgrade. I probably qualified for one unless Microsoft had some major security problem and released the upgrade to everyone :p

edit: also, my laptop is the Lenovo Yoga 3 Pro that I bought couple of months ago

Last edited:

Skamath

Feb 15, 2014
Visit site