Will windows 10 unbrand devices?

Jacques7

Dec 14, 2015
Visit site
Hello everyone.
I'm pretty much a noob here and I'm curious about Windows 10 mobile. I'm about to buy a Lumia 1520 (always loved the phone but had a 920) and sadly the unicorn (1520.3) is not available anymore (at least not brand new) so I might end up getting a AT&T RM-940, I am currently on Preview for Devs with my 920 and will want to try windows 10 for sure.

Does anybody know if the windows 10 (either the current preview or the final release) will debrand the phone to get rid of AT&T ROM restrictions? Most people tell me that internet sharing and some bands don't work on the AT&T variant. Or what if I install Windows 10 preview and then try to flash a RM-938 ROM on it? Has anyone tried that? Any hope it could work?

Thanks in advance.

michael nabil01

Oct 1, 2015
Visit site
No it will not. an at&t phone will stay at&t after w10m. My Lumia 1520 stayed at&t after upgrading and my Verizon HTC one m8 stayed Verizon.and the bands that are not available are not available because of hardware. Note : At&t Lumia 1520 doesn't have wireless charging

Jacques7

Dec 14, 2015
Visit site
Thanks for the reply.
It's a shame because I was hoping that could allow users to flash back to a ROM without AT&T restrictions (like internet sharing) I wasn't interested in trying to change bands LTE because I know those are determined by the hardware specs, i read the band that differ is a T-Mo one which can be modified with field test menu.
It's really a shame that MS (knowing that carriers add such restrictions) don't try to make free ROMS you can have flashed on the device.

Thanks again for the response Mike!

EspHack

Jun 11, 2013
Visit site