Is it just me?

YUKEVENMORE

Feb 12, 2016
Visit site
I'm relatively new to Windows 10. At 72 years old I've had time to be exposed to the product from the mid 80s till now. Think my favorite was XP Pro, then came along Win 7 which was an easy transition. After 6 years of owning a Dell XPS (a monster PC) I elected to get a new Inspiron which came with Windows 10. I'm going on 2 weeks now and, out of respect for what my Dad always hammered into me, if you can't say something good about something, don't say anything at all.

So the only thing I'll mention is that on most other sites my username is "I'm Hooked" - obviously I could not use that when speaking of Windows 10.

This thread requires no response but I'll certainly continue reading the posts, maybe I'll learn something that will change my thinking.

Last edited:

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I'll be honest, your dislike wasn't clear and I got it just from connecting the dots.

Alas, if there are issues, that what most of the site is for. :)

I'll admit that while 10 is a net gain, there's still things I miss from 8.1 like its solidity.

Bobvfr

Apr 20, 2014
Visit site
Not sure the OP made the stop at the 8/8.1 station so has gone from 7 to 10 with nothing in between.

Give it more time is my advice, I think 10 is a fantastic OS, you don't need to use the Metro tiles, you can just use the menu and desktop, the tiles are just shortcuts that many of us find handy, but the main thing is it allows the desktop to morph into tablets and mobiles, devices with touch screens.

You don't mention other devices, just desktops so you should set up your device to suit you, I am sure you can make it look and feel very 7 like, as it is a very configurable OS.

Steve Thackery

Jun 23, 2015
Visit site
I much prefer the UI design language of W7 over W10, and although I use W10 on my hybrid, I've reverted to W7 on my workstation.