Side step to make an app for Snapchat?

spazinvader

Dec 12, 2013
Visit site
I went through the terms and conditions of Snapchat and it seemed that they covered almost all the paths to make a third party app. What I was thinking is that if we are to make a browser that is completely optimized for snapchat(like it can run in back ground, notify users when there are new snaps, everything that is achieved through an app), will it still be an issue? Could they actually sue for a browser optimized for snapchat?

I am no lawyer and I am a mediocre programmer. And a non US resident. And goes without saying, not a user of snapchat. If I write a browser, that has, say a tool bar that can let you see the snaps, manage the snaps, let you share through tools in the tool bar, is this still a violation? In simple words, more like a browser that can render other sites too but render snapchat better than other browsers, is this still violating the rules?

Any thoughts?

rhapdog

Retired Senior Ambassador
Aug 26, 2014
Visit site
I'm no lawyer either. I didn't even know SnapChat could be used from a browser, or if it can, whatever. I also don't use it.

However, if you wish to get it approved without any repercussions whatsoever, then get SnapChat's view on the matter. Contact them, let them know the plan, and straight up ask them if there would be an issue with that. If they agree to it then you're home free. If they don't want it, they'd just change the terms of service to block it, so it's best to get approval up front.

It will likely depend on "how" the toolbar and browser interacts to make it "better" than other browsers for snapchat.

bmazloum

Jul 12, 2014
Visit site
I've always said that if you have to ask if something is illegal, then is most likely is.