Windows 10 Mobile and Hard Resets

aimulaidni

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Isn't the 930 a lesser phone than the 950? I don't think the problem is the hardware.

It is...and yes, the problem is not the hardware, it's the software...and herein lies the issue....i can't go back to 8.1 on the 950XL, so if I do want to use one, I would either have to go for the 930 or the 1520 (these being the flagships when they were released)...and I can't use the 1520 because of it's size, so only option left is the 930...the only things holding me back are the camera and the price...I'm a student and had to save up to get the 950XL, now if i sell it, I would probably have to do it for a loss of atleast $200 bucks and I don't want to do it...I was banking a lot on the 950XL and was planning to keep it for atleast two years...but I'm just fed up with this phone now...almost smashed it yesterday out of anger (threw it down but the carpet saved it)...stupid me i know

aimulaidni

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Okay, to all those who mentioned that a hard reset isn't necessary and should be the last resort, what do I do when none of the solutions work? As in for the battery drain, cortana crashing,resuming screensetc. And is there even a fix for cortana crashing? And the resuming screens?

aimulaidni

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Maybe you've already done this, but I've found that changing the diagnostics setting from Full to Basic makes a huge difference to battery life. (Settings > Feedback and Diagnostics > Diagnostic and usage Data > Basic.

Also, I've noted that Whatsapp consumes a lot of battery even if it remains in the background. (You could verify this by noticing the percentage of battery drain that an app contributes while in the foreground vs background.) So I make sure to long-press the Back key and actually close WhatsApp after every instance of responding to chats.

Other than this, I get standby battery drain of about 1-1.5% per hour (Lumia 950), which seems perfectly acceptable.