1. S 187's Avatar
    Hey folks, I've been on 1607 (Anniversary Update) until today when I finally received a message via update center that I can now update and move on to ver. 1703 (Creators Update).

    Anyway, after it was finished installing I noticed something. Right before installing 1703, I had 46.4 GB free of 190 GB on C disk and 137 GB free of 273 GB on disk D. After updating it was 39.3 GB on C and 166 GB on D. I then had to restart my laptop cause of Bitdefender, so after restarting my laptop I noticed that it shows 137 GB once again on disk D. However, disk C shows 39.1 GB.

    My question is where did those 7.3 GB go?
    Last edited by S 187; 09-17-2017 at 11:51 AM.
    09-17-2017 09:11 AM
  2. DOGC_Kyle's Avatar
    My guess is that it could have been one of two things:

    The installer files for the new version. Uncompressed, they're probably about that big. The files would have downloaded and uncompressed automatically in the background before you actually started the upgrade, so that's why you might've seen the extra 7.3GB.


    Or, it could be the actual OS files.
    When you do the feature upgrades, Windows actually downloads the whole OS and installs both versions at the same time. When you restart, it makes the new version the default, but the old one is still installed (just disabled).

    The old one is kept for 10 days, so you can roll back easily. Since the old version is still technically installed, it's pretty quick to switch back to it. So if it's been more than 10 days, it might have been the old version was removed automatically.
    09-17-2017 01:51 PM
  3. DOGC_Kyle's Avatar
    My guess is that it could have been one of two things:

    The installer files for the new version. Uncompressed, they're probably about that big. The files would have downloaded and uncompressed automatically in the background before you actually started the upgrade, so that's why you might've seen the extra 7.3GB.


    Or, it could be the actual OS files.
    When you do the feature upgrades, Windows actually downloads the whole OS and installs both versions at the same time. When you restart, it makes the new version the default, but the old one is still installed (just disabled).

    The old one is kept for 10 days, so you can roll back easily. Since the old version is still technically installed, it's pretty quick to switch back to it. So if it's been more than 10 days, it might have been the old version was removed automatically.
    09-17-2017 01:51 PM
  4. S 187's Avatar
    Thanks for the clarification. I hope you're right! :)
    09-17-2017 02:07 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-26-2017, 08:51 AM
  2. My Surface Phone Prediction
    By raekwan101 in forum Microsoft News & Rumors
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-25-2017, 01:39 AM
  3. new update? 15/09/2017
    By beman39 in forum HP Elite x3
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-23-2017, 06:10 PM
  4. Update erroe
    By rootleet in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2017, 08:46 AM
  5. Creators Update for Surface Book
    By tomirepa in forum Windows 10
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2017, 07:53 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD