WP was almost there & that's how the story ended..

anon(10409867)

Feb 8, 2018
Visit site
Windows phone always remained a dark horse. Unfortunately, it's story ended very much like most of Microsoft's recent foray into the uncharted territory of innovation.

I have been using Windows phone for the last 6 years and there has been many instances when I expected WP to cross the threshold. Unfortunately, every one of those times, Microsoft did something to kill the momentum. Through this table, I have tried to summarize this trend.

Untitled.png

While it's true that this table is very subjective, it does shows a trend:

1. Hardware of Windows Phones before Lumia 930 were of very high quality. The problem was the OS. Many useful features were lacking or was half baked into the OS. I was expecting that with future OS updates, WP would become a worthy competitor.
2. W10M tried to plug those gap by introducing many new feature in the OS. However, it did that by compromising the stability and build quality.

Due to these reasons, I think WP always remained a dark horse. The year 2016 was a crucial one for it. And then Nadella came.

Ryujingt3

Nov 13, 2013
Visit site
Windows phone always remained a dark horse. Unfortunately, it's story ended very much like most of Microsoft's recent foray into the uncharted territory of innovation.

I have been using Windows phone for the last 6 years and there has been many instances when I expected WP to cross the threshold. Unfortunately, every one of those times, Microsoft did something to kill the momentum. Through this table, I have tried to summarize this trend.

View attachment 139671

1. Hardware of Windows Phones before Lumia 930 were of very high quality. The problem was the OS. Many useful features were lacking or was half baked into the OS. I was expecting that with future OS updates, WP would become a worthy competitor.