Why Can't I Pin Desktop App Shortcuts to the Desktop in Windows 8?

coip

May 21, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Windows 8. Just got it yesterday. Overall, I love it and, after hearing 'journalists' endlessly bash it since last year I have to say they are wrong. Still, there are some minor things that do confuse or irk me, coming from Windows 7 (which was also an awesome operating system).

One such thing is the inability, it seems, to have shortcuts to desktop apps on the desktop, which is sometimes possible and sometimes not. For instance, I downloaded Teamviewer and it automatically created a shortcut on both the Start Screen and the desktop. Fine by me. But then I tried to create a shortcut on the desktop for the Snipping Tool but it won't let me (although, it will let me pin it to the Taskbar in desktop mode, but I'm running out of real estate there). In Windows 7 I would click start and, voila, Snipping Tool was one quick click away. In Windows 8, from Desktop mode, I have to click to go back to the Start Screen, scroll to the right to find the app (or type to search for it), click on it, and then it reverts back to Desktop mode because Snipping Tool cannot work in 'modern mode' (which also irks me like no other! why can't I use snipping tool in modern mode?). All in all, it takes a lot longer to open up this program (and many other similar ones like it). Windows 7 shined as an operating system because it was efficient. In many ways Windows 8 makes doing some things less efficient or, even worse, no longer even possible. Again, I like the appeal of the Start Screen and the UI of the modern apps, but having them shouldn't hinder what was once a really functional desktop mode in Windows 7.