11-02-2015 10:26 AM
39 12
tools
    I currently have a Dell Precision M4700 with Windows 7 Pro, it does not have a touch screen.

But after using Windows 7 for more than 4 years now, I am getting a bit bored and would love to try a new OS.

Problem is that my laptop does not have a touch screen, so would you recommend Windows 8.1 on a non-touch laptop?

The cost is not really an issue since I am a student and I can get a Windows 8.1 Pro for $70 from Microsoft store.
    11-26-2013 01:16 PM
    My bro uses Windows 8.1 on his acer laptop (no touchscreen), Well it's like Windows 8 but it have fixes and they finally added a start button,I tried it for a little,it's really good and i'm thinking to upgrade mine to windows 8.1 too...
    11-26-2013 01:25 PM
    yep my windows vista-era ThinkPad T400 works like a charm with 8.1, no touch screen, although it can sometimes be a nice to have.

I'd totally recommend it,if you're willing to try something relatively new
    Editguy1900 and sibeans like this.
    11-26-2013 01:28 PM
    My home laptop is non-touch and I have run Windows 8 on it since Windows 8 was released. It works great, and Windows 8.1 only makes it better. I run it mostly in "desktop mode" (i.e. sign-in to desktop, use desktop Internet Explorer, etc.) but I do use a number of "Metro" apps (Lync, Xbox Music, etc.) and I prefer the Start Screen to the Start Menu. It works out really well.

Similarly, my work desktop runs the same way... Windows 8.1, sign-in to desktop, desktop I.E., desktop apps, etc.

Contrary to the pundit blogger view, Windows 8/8.1 works just as well in a non-touch environment as it does in a touch environment.
    Editguy1900 likes this.
    11-26-2013 01:36 PM