What's Microsoft's future plans for skype?

supermarketer

Sep 2, 2017
Visit site
Hi I know its a bit off topic. But since this place is filled with microsoft enthusiasts, I wanted to know what exactly could be microsoft's intentions for the new skype. They totally ruined it while making it to compete with giants like whatsapp.
What are your views?

Last edited:

Bobvfr

Apr 20, 2014
Visit site
I like Skype (I only use the new app version) but I do feel that I am fighting against the tide in continuing to use it. I have a Skype number, subscriptions and credits so I pay for some of the services I use.

However......

I think MS never really took any control of the firm when they bought it and Skype (The people running it) got so wrapped up in their "Way of doing things" that they missed the mobile and app revolution creeping up on it (Hang on that sounds like MS anyway).

Skype has a high probability of ending up like "Hoover", we all still buy hoovers but they are made by Dyson, Samsung etc.

I may be wrong but I do think last year when the app came out there had been a lot of internal tension and MS developers were sent it to make the new app to show the Skype people what could be done in just a few months rather than the years Skype staff had spent going nowhere.

MS made a big announcement a couple of years ago that you would be able to send and receive SMS on your PC using your mobile they also talked about being able to make and receive calls on your PC using your phone allowances.

But this as far as I can see, got high-jacked as it could have easily killed off the relevance of Skype (At least the perception of it).

So we have ended up with the worst of both worlds, the only way we can use SMS on our PC is through Skype (OK you can use Cortana), and as far as I can see it's made Skype a mess and killed off what would be a fantastic way of helping PC's stay relevant in the modern world.