Didn't get my 810; FURIOUS w/T-Mobile!

metalchick719

Oct 4, 2012
Visit site
So, I went to a T-Mobile near me nearly two hours ago, expecting to walk out with my new Lumia 810. Didn't happen... The customer service rep told me that I had to upgrade my data plan because I have a grandfathered plan that no longer exists. Had she told me I could get the 2GB plan, I would have been perfectly fine with it as that would have only been $5 more per month than what I'm already paying. But no! She said because my plan is "old," I have to get the 5GB plan, which is $35. This would have meant I would have been paying $80 per month instead of the $54 I've been paying for the last two years. I tried to compromise, but no dice. I walked out of there utterly furious. I've been with T-Mobile since January 28, 2002 and that's how they're going to treat me?! :mad:

All that being said, I'm NOT getting an 810 after all. I walked over to the same AT&T I visited on Monday at the mall. Asked a rep about their cheapest plan and their prepaid plan as well. They both sound decent, but I didn't like that the 5000 minutes you get after 9pm and on weekends are only to other AT&T customers. That does nothing for me because most of the people I talk with regularly are on T-Mobile. :(

In any case, I'm going to get that yellow Lumia 920 I've been wanting lately. I'll probably finish out the rest of my actual T-Mobile contract (expires officially on January 17th) and look into going with Straight Talk. I've had a good run with T-Mo, but this is ridiculous and the last straw. :mad:

Last edited:

kbagrows

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I heard the same thing from an in-store rep. Didn't make sense, so I called customer service. To make a long story short, they offered me the 810 upgrade without having to change my plan. If you really want to stay with TMo, I'd suggest you call customer service. On the other hand, if you've been thinking about a yellow 920 .....

falsehopess

Oct 23, 2011
Visit site