My Review of the OtterBox for the Lumia 822

hopmedic

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
I copied this from the review that I submitted to the OtterBox web site:

I've never used an OtterBox before, so this was new to me - a case with a built-in screen protector? I was hesitant, but I was glad to see that the Verizon store had it in stock, so I could see it on the phone before buying it. Otherwise, I probably would not have bought it.

First off, there's a hard plastic case that goes around the phone. That has the screen protector built-in. Make sure the inside of that, and the outside of your phone are CLEAN. You don't want anything between them. Especially the screen. I even went so far as to put a screen protector on the phone first. Once that snaps on, you put the rubber outer case on. The trick that I've learned is that you have to put the side on with the buttons first, otherwise you WILL have trouble lining up the buttons of the case with the buttons of the phone, and you will end up missing that once-in-a-lifetime photo.

I wish they'd done a better job of design on the buttons. It is a pain getting the buttons of the case lined up with the buttons of the phone. Seems to me like all they needed to do was make the rubber of the inner side of the "button" wider so it won't slip off or miss the phone's button, as does seem to happen at times, and it can be quite frustrating. The question comes up, "Does my case need to be realigned, or did my phone freeze up?" (When you're an early adopter, and get a phone before that first update comes out for a new OS, this can happen!). Once you have it on, and the buttons lined up, the case is great. The buttons do occasionally become misaligned, but for the most part, they stay.