Microsoft rumored to announce Android apps support for Windows 10 at Build 2015

Status
Not open for further replies.

someone2639

Sep 25, 2014
Visit site
How is it going to work exactly? Can someone explain it to me. [Sorry, I'm a noob at this] For example, we can have two versions of whatsapp installed in our phone? One .apk and another .xap version?...

From what I'm getting, they will be in our Store.

Also, I'm sensing Build will reveal a dev feature that Android doesn't have.

Makm

May 15, 2014
Visit site
From what I'm getting, they will be in our Store.

Also, I'm sensing Build will reveal a dev feature that Android doesn't have.

So if we are allowed to have both versions of an app installed then I think it will be a mess... I mean, imagine having several copies of a software installed in every drives of your computer including C drive.

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
Re: Android apps coming to Windows 10..according to Paul Thurrott

Because it's speculation.
Companies don't usually comment on rumors and other stuff.

Honestly, I don't see it as a huge plus. While it IS a plus, Blackberry, even with its Android app layer and all, isn't much further ahead IMO. Snapchat is practically a no-go among others there too. It's going to help, but its not the silver bullet because of Google Play Services.

Besides myself, anybody else here using a BlackBerry with 10.3? The reason I ask is because I keep reading the same tired posts over and over about how Android apps don't run well on BlackBerry. If you haven't tried it on 10.3 then you don't know what you're talking about. There is zero difference between a BB and a KitKat Android device.