anon(5789608)

Apr 10, 2013
Visit site
IMG_0101-e1421895995887-980x1705.jpg

composemail.jpg

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
We do agree that users in general don't care about security. So why does it matter if Windows (PC) and Android aren't as secure? I work in IT, and customers occasionally come in with PCs that have the FBI virus or the NSA virus or Cryptolocker. Too many of them have given credit card data or have lost their data to encryption. It sounds to me like an excellent reason to ditch all Windows PC and go Mac or Linux.

Sounds different now, doesn't it? :wink:

Nope. Sounds exactly the same to me. :wink:

I'm a fan of the technical concepts and foundation on which Windows Phone was built. Technically, I consider WP the best consumer OS ever made. The same can't be said for any of MS other OSes.

So, who cares about security vulnerabilities? Like you said, nobody, until they get "hurt". Suffering can drive people away, but a promise of security won't lure anybody in. That's just how humans work.

If viable smartphone alternatives exist, enough suffering will eventually lead to shifts in market share.

So, I agree. Currently it doesn't matter. It would only matter in some regions, and even then only if WP or iOS represented viable alternatives. Currently they do not. We're making the same point, with a few differences around the edges. Nothing major.

Anyway, I agree, let's get back on topic.

Last edited:

EssThree

Dec 28, 2012
Visit site
Couple of things:
  1. The heatmap is just one a friend gave me. I actually use either hand when holding my smart phone, it just so happened that the one I was sent fit a right hand usage model.