Forcing Conversation View is a Show Stopper

Cloudscout#WN

Nov 18, 2012
Visit site
I like the direction that things are heading for Windows 10 but I'm increasingly worried that one major flaw is actually "by design" and that Microsoft may not have any plans to change it.

I absolutely HATE Conversation View in email. I get it... I know that there are people who like it, but I'm not one of those people. I want my emails in chronological order. So far, though, the "Outlook" client in Windows 10 for phones (and the Mail app in the desktop version) does not give you the ability to turn off Conversation View. Google forced that "feature" on users of their Gmail app for iOS and Android a while back... a decision that weighed heavily in my decision to switch to Windows Phone in the first place.

I have been using Windows Phones for well over 3 years now and I've been testing the Windows 10 preview builds since the program started but I will switch to iPhone if they insist on "Pulling a Google" here.

sosuok

May 2, 2012
Visit site
Cloudscout, I was very disappointed in the conversation view as well but after playing around for a bit I figured out who to go back to chronological order. Turn the phone sideways into landscape view, the preview of the messages then slides to the right and below the folder list appears a "gear" icon that allows you to change the settings. You can change each account individually here so for me I had to fix this in 4 different emails accounts but now I'm really liking things in this latest build. Have started using it on my primary device, 830.

Scratch that, it gives you options but no way to change the conversation mode.

Last edited:

bcr8tiv

Jan 17, 2014
Visit site