Why I'm Rolling Back to 8.1 - for now

Chris Sandiford

Jun 30, 2013
Visit site
I've been using Win 10 on my Lumia 925 for about three months now since it became stable enough to use as my daily driver. But now the phone is starting to show its age; it lags, restarts randomly, resumes constantly and live tiles fail to open and mail goes missing. Sure, partly it's the OS but the phone is 2.5 years old.

So I've rolled back to 8.1 and it's like a breath of fresh air. The phone zips, it's smooth, responsive and alive again. There's nothing I really miss to be honest and the cleanness of 8.1 is refreshing again.

I rolled back because I was starting to hate Windows 10. And I don't want to. I want to love it and for it to be successful. But using it as it was made me start considering Android. Which is not a good sign.

There's a reason Microsoft has a small list of phones that will auto-update to Win 10 and there is a reason the L925 isn't on it. It doesn't cut it. I've decided to wait it out til the flagships come and use Windows 10 on phones for which it is designed and can cope.

If you're starting to feel like me, give it a try. Abandon it until it's ready. Then love it all over again.

p karthik

Aug 30, 2015
Visit site
Even I have done the same...i have roll back to windows 8.1, my photos app never worked properly n crashed always.it's better to wait for fully finished windows 10...hope all could be well when the same is finished n out...

Ma Rio

Sep 28, 2013
Visit site
It's not the phone's fault (atleast not as much as you said). Your 925 can most probably handle Win10. Just maybe not this build. Don't give up on it.
I mean, I'm not sure if I understood you completely. Are you saying you're just waiting on 8.1 for Win10 to be better, or you won't get Win10 at all?

Chris Sandiford

Jun 30, 2013
Visit site