Disable Tab Preview in Edge

davidhk129

Dec 22, 2014
Visit site
I rejoined the Insider builds on my Surface Book when 15050 came out, so I'm still new to RS2. I've used the registry key from this article (How to disable tab preview on Microsoft Edge on Windows 10 | Windows Central) for a while now, but it doesn't seem to work in the current builds. Has anyone found a way to disable tab preview in Edge? Thanks!

I wonder if you should go a few steps further in the registry editing.

Have a look at this article;
http://www.askvg.com/windows-10-tip-disable-tab-preview-thumbnails-in-microsoft-edge-web-browser/

hopmedic

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
David, I appreciate the feedback, but I'm lost. You suggested going a few steps further, but I don't see what steps go further than those that were covered in the Windows Central article I cited, which I've performed, unperformed, and reperformed.

hopmedic

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
Rather surprisingly, I just installed the latest update to 15063 (.14), and the tab preview went away. I didn't change anything in the registry, it just started working as expected after this update.

EDIT: On second thought, no, the problem did not go away. The tab that I happened to hover over had no preview for some reason. I'm still stuck with tab previews. Ugh.

Last edited:

davidhk129

Dec 22, 2014
Visit site
Rather surprisingly, I just installed the latest update to 15063 (.14), and the tab preview went away. I didn't change anything in the registry, it just started working as expected after this update.

EDIT: On second thought, no, the problem did not go away. The tab that I happened to hover over had no preview for some reason. I'm still stuck with tab previews. Ugh.

I did not know you have an edited reply.

When I said a step further, I was referring to the link I gave you in comparison to the link you used.

Please open my link and compare.

hopmedic

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
I did not know you have an edited reply.