High End WP7 Phones

Duvi

Jan 1, 2011
Visit site
I am probably wrong about this, but I think I have seen the folks on Precentral swear up and down that a faster CPU = more efficient battery usage = longer lasting battery.
maybe because you can complete tasks faster, which means the device isn't being used as much? i'm not an expert at all, but if it's the case, i'm guessing that may be part of their argument.

Exomondo

Jan 13, 2011
Visit site
I am probably wrong about this, but I think I have seen the folks on Precentral swear up and down that a faster CPU = more efficient battery usage = longer lasting battery.

That only works if the CPU is more efficient. If it's just faster (higher clockspeed) then sure you complete tasks faster, but you use more power doing it.

enahs555

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site
As someone who is a research scientists at Argonne National Labs (Argonne National Laboratory ... for a brighter future). The first National Lab of the nation (US), where much of the early nuclear research was done (though not well known). We developed some of the new battery technology in the Chevy Volt (Argonne battery technology helps power Chevy Volt).

I can tell you this; I always see people say "they need to work on better batteries". Well, a lot of really smart people are. It is hard, it is a limit of physics and chemistry; totally new approaches are having to be developed.

Also, if you were willing to pay $1000 for a cell phone battery, sure, I can make it last 10-100x longer no problem. And if people would dispose of their old batteries properly, handle them safely and properly, and learn some other basic things, then the industry could start using other materials which would provide much more power and last much longer; just, they are highly toxic and horrible for the environment and are currently not allowed due to regulations (rightfully so).

Rico

Dec 30, 2009
Visit site