The problem and possible solution for developing games with different hardware

Relief

May 24, 2011
Visit site
Hi there,

I am still not a WP7 user (i am waiting for whatsapp and Mango), but there is a thing that makes me worried about the future of WP7 when it comes to developing games for different hardware. I have posted the text below in a feature request topic on answers.microsoft.com and i thought it would be interesting to discuss this with you on WPCentral and to read your thoughts about this. Maybe we could be an inspiration for MS to develop a new system.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is my first time here, but i want to explain and request a new system that should make it easier for developers and consumers to know if a phone can handle certain games.

We all know that the coming year means new hardware for WP7. At this moment all the WP7 phones have Adreno 200, but the new qualcomm chips will have 205 and in the feature maybe 220. We also have a confirmation that Nokia will use dual-core chips from ST-E. So the future will breng us more advanced hardware.

But as a developer how should you deal with the difference in hardware when developing games? How do i communicate this to the consumer that their device is not fast enough to handle the newest games.
Should you just develop games that work with Adreno 200 to ensure the best compatibility, but this will mean that the graphics level of WP7 games will always stay behind the other platforms. We have all seen what Nvidia's Kal-El can perform and we all want that power in the future.
Or devs could develop games specifically for new devices, but then you will have to keep a list of compatible devices and in the future with 30-40 or more devices thats a nightmare!