Another thing Mango left out..

jdd77

Sep 24, 2011
Visit site
Although Bing search got some nice new features, why isn't there a "search marketplace icon at the bottom of the Bing page when you hit the magnifying glass button. Wouldn't that be far more useful than the "scan song" icon? Of course I could pin the marketplace tile to my home screen, but that's more of a work-around than anything else. Being able to quickly search for apps from the search hard key seems like a no-brainer for any smartphone. ...and sorry in advance if Im missing it..Im very new to this OS.

Last edited:

TheWeeBear

Jan 9, 2011
Visit site
There's a search icon in the marketplace at the bottom when you enter it jdd77.

Or am i not thinking along the same lines as you're meaning ? :)

Coffee

Jul 26, 2011
Visit site
I guess that would work, but I think Marketplace search should be done in Marketplace. there's a full Marketplace experience in there. Seems more like a personal preference than it would be logical for everyone.

palandri

Retired Moderator
Jul 25, 2009
Visit site
When I am in the Marketplace and I hit search on the bottom of my phone, Bing comes up and it searches for what I am looking for in the Marketplace. It doesn't world wide web search, only a Marketplace search as far as I can tell.

TheWeeBear

Jan 9, 2011
Visit site
In nodo the hard search button searched the marketplace when you were in it, but now with Mango it remains a net search, not the marketplace. (It does launch a relative app if you have it installed.)

IE if you search bing for wpcentral and have the app installed it will let you launch it.

They added a soft search at the bottom of the marketplace in Mango.

theefman

Nov 14, 2008
Visit site