Contacts/Calendar/XBox Accounts

SJamG

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
Howdy folks...

I am making the jump to WP7 at the end of this months (after years of being in Apple's camp) and would like some experts to tell me how the contacts, calendars, xbox and marketplace accounts work...

I will be using GMail for my mail and calendar, but want to use my hotmail account for my marketplace and xbox. I signed into hotmail.com today and found that my contacts included all my linked Facebook and Linked in contacts and worry that my contacts on my phone will appear twice.

So how does this work exactly? Can I use my hotmail account for xbox and marketplace, but only have my Gmail account for my contacts and calendar or will i have to register my gmail address as a live ID and use that?

I can usually understand how all these syncing accounts work...but this has me a bit confused (as I have never used a WP before).

Thanks in advance for the help! :)

Vector555

Sep 27, 2011
Visit site
Good Morning SJamG,

I think you will find that WP7 will allow you to accomplish what you want. Settuping up your phone, it will ask for your Live account. This will need to be the account you use for your Xbox Live Profile. After you have that setup add you gmail, facebook, twitter, and whatever other accounts you want. Now, you said that you don't want to sync you Hotmail/live account? Easy enough, within the settings for people hub you will find that you can filter contacts by account. This will allow you to hide all the hotmail contacts.

SJamG

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
Good Morning SJamG,