A WebOS refuge comes over

TexZenFool

Nov 22, 2011
Visit site
So I made the big jump. Got my $.01 Focus S in the mail a few days ago and have been working on rebooting my thinking of how a phone should work.

My overall impression is that WP7 is an elegant OS design.

For a sense of where I'm coming from, I am a 25+ year technology veteran. I tend to think in data design terms. But a while back I had the good fortune to work very closely with a brilliant designer who taught me to see the world differently - through the lens of UX design and general design thinking.

It's clear to me that MSoft had some of those types working on WP7. Not only is the design visually pleasing, the user interaction experience is intuitive and seamless. The approach to interacting with the phone, apps, and especially people is very different from my trusty and familiar WebOS. I guess, WebOS was more akin to my data model style of thinking. WP7 is - well - different. It pretty transparently leads you where you need to go, albeit with a bias towards social media interaction.

I expected to really miss WebOS Synergy but I find that WP7 is able to integrate all my various contacts in a way that works even better. In addition to Facebook, LinkedIn and now Windows Live accounts, I also have 2 yahoo mail accounts, 2 gmail accounts, and 4 other business emails that I check daily. (Yes, I do tend to over-complicate my life.) I grouped all my various email accounts into 3 home screen tiles which works just great. I also have 3 people groups tiles that mirror those. That is a real productivity gain for me.