Eduroam on WP7

Dormage

Sep 25, 2011
Visit site
Hello,

I've been a happy WP7 user for more then a year and the problem with WP7 not connecting to eduroam is killing the love. I have the privilege of working on my university and I've enabled every possible authentication there is and still WP7 devices can't connect.

After checking the radius server logs it appears WP7 passes the auth data correctly but after a handshake it disconnects for some weird reason.

The way I see it, young people, students are heavy smart phone users and the eduroam network in Europe is quite large. A thing like this could be a deal breaker for many!

I've seen posts of people saying they got their wp7 to connect but I can't seem to get mine working.
If anyone can share something on this topic it would be lovely.

XBWillem

Jan 6, 2012
Visit site
Interesting topic! I'm currently studying at the University of Applied Sciences in Vlissingen (or Flushing in English). There is an Eduroam netwerk there as well. I haven't visited the university in 6 months, as I just finished an internship. But I'd love to connect to the Ederuaom once I go back!

At my university I had to install some software on my laptop before I could connect to the Eduroam network. Perhaps some sort of install or specific settings are needed to access the network with a smartphone.

Dormage

Sep 25, 2011
Visit site
University of Bristol Wireless ? Eduroam – Connect Windows Phone 7

Tried that? If not, sounds like there's a local problem. Talk to the administrators.

Yep, that's what I was referring to when I said I've heard some people made it work.
I never seen nobody confirming that this process works.
I've installed our University certificate and still no sauces.

Since I can't find any confirmation that WP7 works with eduroam I'm saying it doesn't.
I've even talked with a few guys from Microsoft in my country and they came up with nothing.

It's strange how on other OS it simply works!
Why can't it work on WP7.