New to windows phone.

toasterthegamer

Feb 29, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys,

I'm new to windows phones, and I'm looking for a little information. I'm planning on getting the nokia 900 for numerous reasons. Mainly I want a smartphone I can program using C#, which is what I use at work all the time. I'm currently using a palm pre- on sprint, and I want to switch to the nokia 900 on att. Will I be able to switch my current number over without any problems? As far as I know my 2 year contract is up will I have to pay an ETF to leave sprint? Also skype seems kind of limited will they fix most of the problems it'll have on release later on, or will they just leave it broken??

Thanks,
-Jon

speedtouch

Jan 23, 2012
Visit site
Yes, you should have no trouble at all porting your number from Sprint to AT&T. Just call Sprint and verify that there are no blocks or holds on your number and that it's able to be ported at any time.

If you leave Sprint before your two years are up you'll have to pay an ETF. This is standard with any carrier and any two year contract.

Are you really serious about your Skype question?

bear_lx

Jun 28, 2011
Visit site
yes skype is just beta right now, it is in early development stages... so indefinately it will be improved. beta releases are inteded for preview purposes only, its not an official release. microsoft said to have a full verison out by april 2012.

other questions were already answered...

BTW welcome!!! great to have you in our community!!!

selfcreation

Dec 16, 2010
Visit site
welcome-to-wp.gif

1. to port a number from one carrier to the next you need to following:

- names on both carriers need to match! ( when u activate with new carrier)
- you need your account number from your old carrier ( top of your BILL )
- your cell number must be eligible on the different carrier ( rare but some times its not )
- if your out of contract it should be ok!

2. for all your developing needs make sure to check out: