Database app

wcalhoun

Mar 16, 2012
Visit site
I'm new to WP7, but there appears to be no database apps available. Is there no Handbase or MobileDB style database apps? What prevents them from existing?

Thanks!

Dormage

Sep 25, 2011
Visit site
If I correctly understand what a Database app is I think there are no limitations to make one.
You do have excell on a WP7 so there's your DB managment and you can do most stuff there.
An app could be done to sync the DB between devices if though.
What do you expect from a DB app?

rbrunner

Feb 26, 2012
Visit site
Try DataHub

You may check the app DataHub: DataHub in the US Marketplace

Or Database: Database in the US Marketplace

What prevents them from existing?

It seems, somewhat surprisingly, that managing data on smartphones is quite a niche application: Only few people seem to do it in any serious way.

Contrast that with the considerable complexity of a good smartphone database app, and the still low market share of WP7.

By the way: If you look at the reviews of those two apps it becomes clear very quickly that there are tons and *tons* of features that one can reasonably wish for in a database app. It just never ends...

mulder

Mar 21, 2012
Visit site
DB app pickings are pretty slim, but I understand the point about not many people using db apps on a phone. It would be nice if MS would support MS Access on mobile devices.

mparker

Jan 13, 2011
Visit site
The problem persists even in the Win 8 Metro environemnt. WinRT doesn't have it's own database, and doesn't even have support for talking to server databases (no System.Data.* classes). You wind up having to write your app to talk to a web service that then talks to the database.

Even if the app is running in Metro on a desktop machine.

There's an effort to port the SQLite library to WinRT, but it's kind of sad that it's come to this.

Gmotagi

Jul 6, 2011
Visit site