New to WP7... Question regarding IE displays different brightness?

g2design

Mar 29, 2012
Visit site
I am new to the WP7 game and just picked up a Lumia 900 the other day. One thing that is driving me crazy is how IE is rendering colors while browsing... I will try to explain it the best way I can.

For example, when I load up WPCentral while its loading it looks bright, vibrant and simply amazing on the screen. The blues are blue, the greens are green and the whites especially in the logo are white... then just as the page finishes loading its almost like a grey overlay happens and everything dulls out. I can't explain it, its almost as if when the page is finished loading a secondary brightness kicks in and overlays the entire site. I see this with every page and site I load. I even created a fake page with some specific colors on it and took a picture while the page was loading and then another when the page was done loading and all the colors were completely different from loading to being fully loaded.

Whats even stranger is when I bring up WPCentral, while loading it looks awesome, fully loaded it gets a grey overlay (I know this is not happening, just visually what happens)... but then when I click settings down at the bottom, the website goes back to vibrant, then I close settings and it goes back to dull... wtf?

Is this a setting in the phone? I have it to auto brightness to OFF and brightness control to high.

I recently test drove a Samsung Note and it did something very similar but it had two different brightness settings, one for the phone and one for the browser.

I enjoy this phone a lot, but this "glitch" is really annoying, this can't be how the browser works is it? It really is just that annoying that I would be tempted to take it back and go to my old phone again... I hope someone can shine some light on this issue. Thanks in advance!

Siah1214

Dec 8, 2011
Visit site