WP7 observations so far

Joelist

Nov 21, 2011
Visit site
I am just starting out on WP7 (using a Trophy because paying VZW a $350 ETF is not something I want to do). What I propose to do is list observations as I go here - sort of a user diary. Hopefully it will be of use to other newcomers and also experienced users - they may know answers to things that may flummox me...

So far, I like the overall experience. The email experience is superior and the whole hub concept is extremely user friendly. The Live Tiles give me lots of information without needing to click anything and the lock screen even contains good information.

As to apps, I came in thinking I needed a bunch. Well, it turns out not to be so. Unlike iOS and Android this OS really does not need apps for everything. I have discovered that the only apps I actually wound up using were Adobe Reader and Weather Channel - everything else is right there already. So whenever you hear the whole "not enough apps" argument get the person to actually use the phone.

On to issues so far. Mainly I am having two interrelated issues:

1) There appears to be no way to control the size of fonts on the phone. And on the smallish Trophy screen this is making it hard to read stuff. But this is minor compared to #2:

2) No Text Reflow in IE. This is MAJOR. I was expecting a MS mobile browser to support text reflow as they did before in Win Mobile. Am i missing a trick here? Because right now all I can find is pinch and zoom - double tap just zooms out until the text fits in the page. Without reflow web pages are hideous to read because you have to scroll in both the X and Y axes.

And is there a third party PDF reader besides Adobe? Adobe for mysterious reasons has no reflow support here. Thankfully Word has reflow, but this means I have to convert PDFs into Word before reading them - not good.