HTML 5 background audio

sean8102

May 15, 2012
Visit site
Hey everyone. Just got my lumia 900 a few days ago and i love the phone. Had a question though. I read on wikipedia that 7.5 supports background html 5 audio. I cant figure out how to use it though. What I am trying to do is stream a podcast from twit.tv through ie9 in the background. I go to the site and click the link for the audio version of the podcast and it starts playing but as soon as i go back to the start screen the audio stops. I was wondering if im just doing something wrong, or am i misunderstanding what background html 5 audio is? Thank you for the help. Also just wanted to say this site has been super helpful in showing me tips and trick for windows phone so thanks for all your content.

mtmjr90

Oct 11, 2010
Visit site
I'm no expert and I'm not a dev, but my guess is that although the OS might support it, it probably has to be built in on the backend by each app's developer.

ilsonfan

Jan 4, 2012
Visit site
Couple of thoughts. How are you going back to the start screen? Pressing the back arrow will close IE so try pressing the start button instead. Secondly, I believe there is a twit.tv app so try that instead of the website

Hypnopottamus

Jan 28, 2012
Visit site
Don't have a fix for doing this in the browser, but you might try using an app in the Marketplace called "Podcast!" which is free and can not only download content in the background, but also stream in the background. Not really a "fix" but it is a workaround.

mtmjr90

Oct 11, 2010
Visit site
I feel your pain though, I have yet to find a good podcast app for WP (I've tried them all) and sometimes I just want to use an RSS feed reader through the browser to listen to them. I've found that some (the Vergecast and Verge Mobile Podcast for example) have an embedded player that works as background audio (both through the site as well as RSS), so I really do think it's up to the person posting to make it work.

eric12341

Dec 1, 2009