Heyo!

So the question is how to prevent additional charges while abroad (internet etc.)
    Do I have to turn cellular off and enter roaming? Is this enough to prevent additional internet charges? Also it'd be cool if someone'd spell it out for me what roaming actually is, I'm not quite sure about it... I'm new to wp7 and want to be very sure about this so yeah...thx in advance ;)
    06-15-2012 12:32 PM
    Hey Ink13

Welcome to WPCENTRAL!!! :D:D

ill try to explain it the best i can .

Roaming:
    what roaming is is basically when you are using an OTHER carrier's Network , witch often relates to you being in a different country.
    Now what happens is that by using this other providers network , they charge YOUR carrier for you using it and in return your carrier charges you that amount.

your best bet is to simply TURN off DATA to prevent being charged . Normally you could get charged 1$ ++ for every MB that you use outside your network. ( call your carrier for confirmation on COST )

Most carriers will have OPTIONS /Features you can add to your Monthly bill to help minimize does charges. ( roaming data + calls + msg ) exp: 40$ for 100min instead of 0,65-2$/min

Keep in mind that while roaming you get charge for EVERY connecting to the network: SMS , DATA , Phone call ,e-mails ...etc....

recommendations:

- call your carrier to get option for roaming
    - turn OFF your network ( air plain mode) for zero charges. and just use your pho9en for media.
    - get a unlock phone and buy a SIM card from the carrier of that country you are in( for a couple weeks )
    - turn off just data and accept the 1-2$/min phone calls... or dont pick up!

hope this helps :)
    ink13 likes this.
    06-15-2012 12:43 PM
    Hey! Thx for the reply!
    And another question is that... I can use wifi without any charges, right?