Open Letter to Microsoft

MrBacon42

Jan 18, 2012
Visit site
I made a letter to Microsoft that I'm posting on a bunch of different sites in regards to surface and windows 8. I thought you guys might be interested too

MrBacon42

Jan 18, 2012
Visit site
Here's the content in case you don't want the PDF

Dear Microsoft,

For many years I have been an avid tech enthusiast. I read review/rumor blogs and watch the live feeds of many tech events, so naturally on June 19th, I tuned in to see what you had in store for us. Like many who watched the unveiling of your surface tablet, I was blown away by what I saw. I loved the idea of a Microsoft branded tablet and quite honestly it’s about time you gave your OEM partners a swift kick in the pants.

But in the month since the event, and reading the comments and articles popping up on the web about the surface and windows 8, I fear that the tech community as a whole does not truly understand what you are trying to do. This most recent shift in your products is so new, that many people have lost faith in your ability to provide for our consumer needs. You may not be irrelevant yet in any tangible sense (you still hold a massive market share and billions in saved income), but the media has begun to write as if you are already on the outs. They write as if you are the aging giant with one last attempt at remaining in the technological spotlight, and as many companies have refused to accept (at their own peril) your perception in the media is everything.

Thinking on this I have composed a list of three goals, a short list of achievable actions that you can take to make sure that you not only remain relevant, but that you are once again the king of silicon for years to come.