Moving an iPhone user to WP7 - NIGHTMARE!!!!!

crazy-eye

Sep 7, 2012
Visit site
OK I am new to WP7 and am a current iPhone user. I was looking forward to switching my wife from her old iPhone to a nokia lumia 800 today (the contracts are dirt cheap and giving them away!). I thought it would be a good exercise as I am seriously thinking of ditching apple and moving to WP8 when released.

I thought this would be a simple matter....... OH HOW WRONG I WAS!

FOr all its great contact intergration the process of getting an end users contacts from an iPhone to a Windows Phone device is practically impossible.

Firstly getting contacts off the iphone in a readable format was total pain, eventually solved by downloading a multi account vCard from the icloud website. These were then imported into outlook.

Digging out an old hotmail account for the WP7 live ID and the Hotmail Outlook intergrator seemed to be the answer. However this only sync'd the hotmail contacts NOT all the ones I'd imported. When I tired to add the contacts of outlook to the Hotmail contacts it failed because they were phone numbers not email addresses!

Seriously its a phone, phone numbers are THE MOST IMPORTANT CONTACTS! Facebook and email are all very nice but if you cant call somebody you may as well have a tablet.

No amount of google searching produced a SIMPLE guide for this obviously desired feature!

Please tell me its me? I really hope I have just missed something but as it is a great phone but 3 frustrating hours and my wife is ready to send it back and pay more for a new iphone. At least they work as PHONES!

12Danny123

Mar 24, 2012
Visit site
OK I am new to WP7 and am a current iPhone user. I was looking forward to switching my wife from her old iPhone to a nokia lumia 800 today (the contracts are dirt cheap and giving them away!). I thought it would be a good exercise as I am seriously thinking of ditching apple and moving to WP8 when released.