WP 8.1 Upgrade error 80188309

medanasbo

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
Hello,

I'm a Windows Phone developer from Tunisia and I have HUAWEI Ascend W1 (HUAWEI 4Africa exactly)
I used to enable preview for developers since 2013 to get GDR 3 and now I'm trying to upgrade to 8.1 through it :wink:
But unfortunately, I've got an error with number 80188309 :angry:
Lumia owners got the same error when they was trying to upgrade to Lumia Black
For region I set USA and I flashed my phone with USA ROM since 3 or 4 days ago as I expected to get Cortana :love:
After I failed 2 times in getting the update [stuck in Preparing to install 96%] then moves back until 04% (but very quickly) then I get the error

80188309.jpg

Now I changed everything to Tunisia (Region ...) and I'm downloading the update (59% actually)
Any one got same problem ? any solution ? :unhappy:

Thanks​

neo158

Oct 6, 2011
Visit site
Have you tried restarting, not only that but I made sure that I had almost 4GB of free storage before the update.

realwarder

Dec 31, 2012
Visit site
Restart, make sure you are on Wi-Fi, then press Check for Update again. I had this once too. Oh yes, I also freed up 10GB space (originally 3.8GB free). Not to sure if that helped too.

AddVariety

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
Got the same error, on a Huawei Ascend W1 as well. It's not because of slow internet connection, I'm on a Wi-Fi 100 Mbit/s up+down. Any ideas?

medanasbo

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
it's not an internet problem ..
The update downloads completely and prepares to install but when stuck in 96% like happens for everybody, in few seconds I get the error got it ?

pdplatypus

Sep 21, 2013
Visit site
Having the same experience here in the Philippines. I flashed Russia GDR2 rom then update to the latest GDR3 Preview.

Anyway, is there a link where I can get USA ROM? I would prefer to use that since Russia ROM is limited to 3 languages. I understand Filipino and English and I'm studying Japanese and Spanish.