Email Attachment in Windows Phone 8.1

nasellok

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
OK, I have to admit - this is the first hiccup ive had in my transition from Android to Windows Phone 8.1. I love the UI, the fact that my Icon never lags, and generally does exactly what I tell it, when I tell it. It has crashed maybe 1 or 2 times since I bought it at launch, and I cannot recommend the WP platform to enough people.

BUT........

I am an Architect, and I received an email attachment over the weekend - I did not have internet service where I was (out in the country). I needed to drive about 15 mins away from the house, to get cell service so I could download the file. My plan was to download the file via LTE onto my phone, and then plug my phone into my computer to retrieve the file. The file was a .dwg (AutoCAD) file, and it was not large, maybe 5mb - I tapped the download link on the email, and it showed as downloaded. I get back to the house, and the file is nowhere to be found on the phones storage. I tried long pressing the file, only to get a blanked out "save" or "cancel download" options. It is downloaded to the phone, yet I have no access to the file. I don't want to try to open it on the phone (Autodesk has yet to make an app for Windows phone), I literally just wanted to transfer it to my W8 tablet so I could work on it. When I tap on the file, it tells me to search for an app in the store, fine....then it gives me a link to Cloud Manager app, which did nothing for me. I have gone into Pocket File Manager app, doesn't show up anywhere, in the MS Files app, I don't see it. Where the hell did the file go, and why don't I have access to it? I cannot upload to Onedrive, or save the file anywhere on the phone because it is not supported by WP. Doesn't make sense.

Can anyone shed any light on this issue for me? If the file was compressed into a .zip, would I have been able to access it? Is there any way to save an incompatible file to my phone?