What happens to all my apps in WP 8.1

Kon Bick

Feb 14, 2014
Visit site
Hey,
as I am new to WP I haven't followed what happened during the transition from WP 7 or 7.5 to 8 but I remember there was an update that would require new apps as the old ones would not run on the newer version of the OS. What will happen to all my purchased apps in WP 8.1? I read that no WP 8 apps will run on WP 8.1, so I am right now hesitating to buy new apps...

But how was it last time? Were identical apps offered soon after the transition? Or did some apps not show up anymore? Will microsoft help developer with the new needed code (i.e. give advice what is to do)?

And, I also read that Windows 8 RT apps will run on our phones then. Is that true? Or not entirely clear yet?

Thanks for your information!

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
Someone has informed you very incorrectly, on all counts. You need to stop listening to whoever is feeding you this :smile:

Most WP7.x apps ran just fine on WP8.x. A few exceptions did exist however. It took a few months for developers to get on the same page as MS, but it sorted itself out fine.

All WP8 apps are expected to run perfectly under WP8.1 without any changes. Making use of some of the new OS features will require that apps are updated, but that is normal.

Windows 8 RT apps will never run on WP. WP is expected to eventually replace W8RT however, at which point we will have a single OS for tablets and smartphones. Currently WP and W8RT are "just" becoming more similar (from a developers point of view), so it will require less effort for devs to build apps that run on both. That is the extent of "compatibility" for now.

EDIT: It is true that WP8.1 apps will not run on WP8.0, but that too is normal.

Last edited:

Zulfigar

Jun 27, 2012
Visit site
Hey,