Microsoft: Please give us start screen backgrounds instead of skinned tiles!

meddyrainzo

Apr 20, 2012
Visit site
There is a fine line between simplicity and functionality. I am an engineer, and from all people we understand this the most. Making an engineering decision requires a good balance between this and that; everything in this world comes with advantages and disadvantages, so an engineering decision must create a good balance for the perfect, most balanced solution.

In the case of simple vs functional, I find metro to be overly simplistic, in a way that degrades functionality. Having a simple system has great advantages, but it also comes with lots of disadvantages, which most important is functionality. No one wants a simple system that cannot do simple tasks good enough, also, no one wants a complex system that users get confused from.

In this case, I vote for having more functionality, out of a simple system, without ruining it's personality, in which I believe skinned-tiles do. I think Microsoft also agrees with me, as all the things I am demanding are already found in Windows 8.

Hope you understand me well enough.

Well if they did agree with you, they wouldn't have skinned tiles as their "way to go" would they :).
It works for desktop, doesn't seem to work on mobile

Haha, well, I am no designer. In fact, I am a Mechatronics Engineer. I agree that my attitude wasn't the best, but I swear that's cause I am so passionate about WP.

You see, I've used WP since I've got my HD2, and I won't trade it for anything else in the market, but it kills to see lots and lots of people demands that Microsoft take ages for it to listen, and when they do, it's not what you were waiting for -for me at least-.