Porting Apps: Input needed on what you'd like to see

James8561

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
Thanks James. I'm actually familiar with the ecosystem from a coding perspective. The most frustrating part for me was the SDK system if you want to build from 7.5 to 10.
I would ignore 7 and just code for WP8.1 and later. Support the future rather than the obsolete.
So which apps are you bringing over first?

KermEd

Mar 28, 2014
Visit site
I would ignore 7 and just code for WP8.1 and later. Support the future rather than the obsolete.
So which apps are you bringing over first?

Good question... I'm thinking I'll create the network app requested above first. And I have a half dozen games I can bring over with minimal effort (I'm a 3D software developer by trade).

I have some apps like Secure AV, Secure Notes, Secure Browser and Text Edit/HTML Editor that have done well but might not be as good of a fit on WP. Right now, based on what I've read above, I might do better to build a new line of apps from scratch focused on utilities. I think once I browse the app market I'll have a better idea of what to make. But the threads helped me focus quite a bit on a niche.

For 7.5 and 8 I have devices, I don't really have an 8.1 device yet. So I'd have to rely on the simulator for that one. But going only 8.1+ would be so much easier

James8561

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
There's no demand for antivirus on WP cuz there's no virus... yet haha
For third party browser, it's really disappointing because like apple, Microsoft requires that you use the IE backend. (need confirmation)
Notepad++ for phone could be popular among other developers.
You can get a Lumia 635 for like $50 if you're in the USA. WP is famous for affordability

Also, have you look at making apps for the Microsoft Band? :D the SDK just came out

peachy001

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
True! There are four or five developers in my circle that are starting to push in this direction :) it's certainly an attractive platform to get onto.