The Windows 10 April 2018 update has arrived! Get the new Dell XPS 15, starting at $999.99
    Being a complete newbie with smartphones and also my Lumia 640XL, I'm a little confused about exactly how 'XBox Music' works? Am I right in saying it is part of my MS account, simular to the Store, for buying and downloading music/audio?

As a musician who owns a small music studio, I can say I am old school and will never want to download any music from anywhere! (Most people consume, buy and play music - I create it!) I have 1000's of various MP3's stored safely elsewhere, and also on my PC.

I am not clear, but I think I do not have an active XBox account yet. Do I need to disable/uninstall XBox from my phone? The only thing I ever want to do, is use USB to upload my own mp3 files to my phone and play them through whatever music player is installed on my phone. I am also unclear about what app plays music/audio on a default set windows 8.1 update 2 phone? Can anyone help?

I do not want to ever use Cloud storage, which is why I ask about these things here, rather than risk triggering activating my 'Cloud'!

Twitawoo!

BlueOwl.
    Last edited by BlueOwl245; 06-23-2015 at 05:10 PM. Reason: spelling mistake ('think' instead of 'thing')
    06-23-2015 04:36 PM
    You can plug your phone into your computer using your USB cable that came with the phone. You can then transfer music files to the Music folder. Xbox Music (a player) will recognize the files on your phone and you'll be able to play them through the app. You can also download other music apps from the store that will recognize your files on the phone. If you're wanting to have a lot of music files (like yours 1000s, for example), you'll want to put microSD card in your phone for expanded storage and transfer the files to a Music folder on the microSD card. You can purchase microSD cards up to 128GB currently... Hope this helps you better understand.